Best Breakfast in Birmingham!

So it has been a long while since I last wrote on this but in my defence, it’s been a busy few months with relocating to Birmingham and also changing jobs! However I have still been indulging in eating out and trying as many new places as I can, of course.

Living in between the Jewellery Quarter and Birmingham City Centre, we are surrounded by many eateries, including many cute little coffee shops which are so much nicer than the franchised stuff that you get. Our favourite place to go for a spot of breakfast is definitely Urban, which is located on the corner of Church Street just off Colmore Row.

As always, whenever I am in an unfamiliar place I refer to Trip and Instagram for their feedback. I have gotten in to a habit of judging food based on the pictures posted on social media, and that’s exactly what I did prior to choosing Urban. They have a breakfast, brunch and lunch menu. We have been to Urban a handful of times now and always had something from their brunch menu, which, unless I am mistaken, is served all day over the weekend. Perfect for us as we aren’t always the early risers that we would like to be, yet we still want the perks of an early riser, ie breakfast!

Now the question is.. what to have? As you may have read from my previous posts regarding brekky, I often opt for my usual Eggs Royale and my other half has the Eggs Benedict.. however you may also remember that I am quite partial to an avocado or two. SO, what better choice than to have the smashed avocado on toasted sourdough with additional smoked salmon and poached eggs?

It’s a thing of beauty, and the worst part is that the picture doesn’t do this plate of food any justice. The butter is slighty salty on the toast which, for me, is perfect as I love salty butter on hot toast. The smashed avocado was at right consistency with chilli, lemon juice and cracked black pepper. The eggs were runny and there was a good amount of smoked salmon. One thing about Urban is that they do not scrimp on their portion sizes so you are guaranteed to leave with a full belly. The food is all prepared and cooked on site by their chef who works solo and is always working non stop in their kitchen. What’s more, she delivers the food to you after she has made it! The perfect personal touch if you ask me.

The coffees are something which I must mention quite quickly. Their strength is just enough to give you that little boost in the morning without making you feel shaky. They also offer soya milk for those who are lactose or, if you are like me!, just prefer the taste of it in your caffeinated beverages.

Make sure you pick up a loyalty card if you are planning on visiting this place again as you will receive a free coffee after ten stamps!

 Urban also offer a breakfast for two deal for £15 where you can choose an item from the brunch menu per person and also a hot drink each. This is a great offer especially when most of the breakfast and brunch items are between £7-£7.50.

If you are stuck for somewhere to go for a great breakfast and you are in Birmingham, make sure you venture towards the Jewellery Quarter and have a bite at Urban. It is quite a popular morning venue so you can sometimes have to wait slightly longer than usual for your food however it is definitely worth the wait.

 

Leave a comment